Rosas/Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich (cancelled)

To limit the spread of the corona virus, STUK cancels all planned performances, concerts and public events until May 31 2020. All ticket holders are contacted directly.

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich was the second performance of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker in the year 1982. The performance marked the breakthrough of postmodern dance in Belgium and initiated the founding of Rosas in 1983. Fase consists of three duets and one solo, choreographed to four repetitive compositions by the American minimalist Steve Reich. In keeping with the structure of the music, De Keersmaeker developed an autonomous language of movement, adding its own new dimension. Both the music and dance start from the principle of shifting phases; through minute variations, initially perfectly synchronised movements gradually begin to slip and shift, creating a complex play of changing forms and patterns. For the first time in the long history of this piece, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker passes on this performance, which she has always danced herself, to two new dancers.

Photos © Anne Van Aerschot


Choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | Created with Michèle Anne De Mey (Piano Phase, Clapping Music) & Jennifer Everhard (Come Out) | Dance (alternating) Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti / Laura Bachman & Soa Ratsifandrihana | Music Steve Reich – Piano Phase (1967), Come Out (1966), Violin Phase (1967), Clapping Music (1972) | Light design Mark Schwentner (Violin Phase, Come Out) & Remon Fromont (Piano Phase, Clapping Music) | Costume design Martine André & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | Production 1982 Schaamte (Brussel) & Avila vzw (Brussel) | Production 1993 Rosas & De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussel) | Co-production De Munt, Sadler's Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris)
Thu 30 Apr 2020 20:30
Fri 1 May 2020 20:30
Sat 2 May 2020 20:30


STUK Soetezaal